Lydd Primary School

Lydd Primary School
Village Academy


The Village Academy offers generic policies for its schools, which are reflected on this website. The individuality of each school’s context means there may be occasions when a school needs to include Appendices to the main Policy document in line with its own context. As a Trust, we continually review all our policies.
To access all our Policies, please click on the link below:

Strategic management

As an Academy Trust, our Articles of Association determine our Governance Structure.

Members and Trustees

The Members ensure we abide by our Articles of Association.

•Rev Stephen Lillicrap*
•Bruce McGlashan
•Mark Pearmain
•Martin Swainson
• Petra Bensted (Ex-Officio by role)

The Trustees add a strategic layer of governance across the whole Academy.

•Petra Bensted (Chair)
•Damaris Gardiner* (Vice Chair, Standards and Data)
•Ian Fidge (CEO)
•Emma Campbell (Training and Development)
•Carrie Gilbody (Finance and Audit)
•Temi Bufford (Safeguarding)
•Dawn Smith (Health, Safety and Compliance)
•Samantha Rintoul (EYFS)
•Helen Stevens (SEN/Pupil Premium)

* Appointed by the Diocese
* For more information about our members and trustees please CLICK HERE to go further information on The Village Academy Website.

Local Governance

Each school has an Academy Council, which comprise one Trustee, the Head Teacher, and a number of non-Trustee members. Academy Council's are chaired by one of its members – not necessarily the Trustee.

For a full list of Current Governance including local Academy Councils please see the following link by clicking HERE

Day to Day management

The Head Teachers are responsible for day-to-day management of ‘their’ school.